Sex Offender Registry Information shall not be used to commit a crime or to engage in Illegal discrimination or harassment of an offender. Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to M.G.L.c. 6 § 178C178P for such purposes shall be punished by not more than Two and One Half (2 ½ ) Years in the house of correction or by fine of not more than One thousand Dollars ($1,000) or both (M.G.L.c. 6 § 178N). In addition, of any person who uses registry information to threaten to commit a crime may be punished by a fine of not more than One hundred dollars ($100) or by imprisonment for not more than Six (6) months. (M.G.L.c. 275 § 4).
If you have read and fully understand the consequences of using this information in an illegal manner. Click the "I Agree" link below.
Definitions of the Classification Levels for Sex Offenders in Massachusetts.
There are 3 Levels of Sex Offenders
Level 1 - Level2 - Level 3
For more on thisTopic you can visit
Level 1 Sex Offenders
Where the Sex Offender Registry Board determines that the risk of reoffense by an offender is low and the degree of dangerousness posed to the public by that offender is not such that a public safety interest is served by public availability, the Board shall give that offender a Level 1 designation. Information on Level 1 offenders will not be available to the public. Neither the police nor the Board have authority to disseminate information to the general public identifying a Level 1 offender. Information identifying Level 1 offenders may only be given to the department of correction, any county correctional facility, the department of youth services, the department of social services, the parole Board, the department of probation and the department of mental health, all city and town police departments and the Federal Bureau of Investigation for law enforcement purposes.
Level 2 Sex Offenders
Where the Board determines that the risk of reoffense is moderate and the degree of dangerousness posed to the public is such that a public safety interest is served by public availability of registration information, it shall give a level 2 designation to the sex offender.
The public shall have access to the information regarding a level 2 offender through the Local Police Department and through the Sex Offender Registry Board.
Level 3 Sex Offenders
Where the Board determines that the risk of reoffense is high and the degree of dangerousness posed to the public is such that a substantial public safety interest is served by active dissemination, it shall give a level 3 designation to the sex offender.
The public shall have access to the information regarding a level 3 offender through the Local Police Departments and through the Sex Offender Registry Board.
- Abandoned / Unclaimed Property
- Arrest Log
- Charges Filed Against Package Store Clerks for Selling to Minors - 3/9/2017
- Child Passenger Safety
- Crime Prevention and Safety
- Drug Distribution Arrest - 3/7/2017
- Firearms Licensing
- Helpful Links
- Incident Logs
- Massachusetts Alerts
- Police Athletic League (PAL)
- Police Officer Entrance Exam
- Press Releases
- Provide Feedback
- Self Defense Program Application
- Self Defense Programs
- Sex Offenders
- Social Media
- Traffic Enforcement Request
- “Your Grandchild is in Jail” Suspect Identifications Needed - 3/7/2017